1981 Regal 231 V6

cooper

Glad I found this site!

Ok, here goes. I've got a 81 Regal with a 3.8. It's got a 2bbl Rochester feedback carb. I'd like to put a 4bbl on it. My question is about the distributor. I have no experience with the HEI, so I'm in the dark. I believe the advance is controlled by the computer, so can I just get a vaccuum advance aftermarket HEI? How about one from a donor car that didn't have an ECM?

Someone at work told me that with an HEI all you need is 12v to it since the coil is part of it. Is that true? I am familiar with Mopar electronic ignition so I'm not a total rock when it comes to how everything works. I just want to be able to get the 4bbl on there with no problems from the computer.(I don't want to use it).

I am familiar with emission laws, however this car won't be on the public roads, so no worry there.

Thanks for any advice or help.

Check out this site(B4Black's), he has been adding N/A V6 mods to it including 4bbl swaps.
The HEI will work good for you for,IMHO
Check out the Links page, about half way down he list some very good reading under Literature

Welcome aboard :D

Hey Cooper,

I got one too! ('81 N/A, and I love it!). O.K. first off, does it run well? Because if it does'nt then why not rip it all out?

You can dismantle the ECM, but I would only do that if I were building a racer. If it runs good then leave it alone.The reason why is because there are plenty of mods that can make this thing go faster and better just by keeping the ECM.

And as far as the EST/HEI, I've written here before that I tried that mod you mentioned with the older HEI w/vacuum advance.

It's o.k., but the 1981 EST/HEI is better! Besides, you probably have a THM-350C transmission with the TCC, (computer controlled). This mod would have you buying a by-pass for the trainy, (which is pretty neat), or you can replace the trainy with an older one. Also, you would have to get a differant carburator, (non-CCC).