Bleeding the rear brakes???

HYBRIDT

You guys have any trouble bleeding the rear brakes on your cars? I put on the S-10 rear wheel cylinders today and can't seem to figure out how to loosen or tighten the bleeder valve with a hose on it because it is recessed so far back into the wheel cylinder:confused: . I can't get a wrench in there with a hose on the end of the valve. I only can get a socket in there to loosen and tighten the valve. Any ideas other than just being messy about it and just using a socket and letting the fluid go everywhere? Oh yeah, the manual for the car said "bleeding order goes pass. rear, drivers front, drivers rear, then pass front". Does that seem right:confused: ? I read it three times to be sure that's what it said.?

That doesn't sound right. I use to do brakes for a living and was ASE certified in brakes and was always told start at the furthest away from the master cylinder and work towards it. RR, LR, RF, LF.

You can always go to the auto parts store and get a longer bleeder screw/valve.

I also converted to vacuum brakes at the same time, will doing a basic 4 corner bleed take care of any air at the master cylinder or is there another procedure? Will I have to bleed the perportioning valve? Does it have a bleed screw?

I did the vacuum conversion....

When I did mine, all I did was bleed the master prior to installing and "burped" it a few times on the car and was done. No need to bleed anything else.

HTH...Bill

To reach those buried rear bleeder valves you need a deep 8mm socket. It will be a little messy, but not too bad. After cracking it open a 1/2 turn or so, put a hose on it and let it gravity bleed or use a Mity-vac to suction bleed it at the wheels. Then use your fingers on the hose to turn the bleeder as tight as you can; then use the socket to finish tightening it.

Definitely bleed Right Rear, Left Rear, Right Front, Left Front. Don't forget to keep the proportioning valve stem clamped while bleeding the rears.