Engine rebuild tools, suggestions please.

Pablo

I've never built up a shortblock before and now I am looking at doing so.

Just wondering what tools aside from regular hand tools I should get.

I've come up with a little list for myself, tell me if this sounds right to you:

Outside micrometer
dial bore gauge
feeler gauges
dial calipers
dial indicator

do I need a dial depth gauge for anything? only thing I can think of is to measure piston tdc to deck distance.

Any suggestions on who to get these from? I've always worked with Starrett stuff at my job (aviation) and it seems like the best of the best. But I don't want to spend more than I have to. I just need it to be accurate, and be able to do an engine every few years.

i'd , add, ring compressor, ring filer, pushrod length checker, good set of torque wrenches. starret is a good brand for the measuring stuff thats what we used in the AF and at NG where i work. calibrations on their stuff is pretty deadon.

I am a little surprised that you haven't had more responses.

For engine building you can never have too many precision tools. Best place to start is with the ones that are less expensive and will be used the most. A 6" or 8" dial vernier is in-dispensable. It can be used for valve spring height, rod length, piston compression height and a host of other measurements.

A dial indicator can be used for crank end play, crank run-out, cam-timing, piston TDC check, balancer timing mark checks, etc. For general use look for one that has a multiple tenths throw.

Feeler gauges are always a good idea. Piston clearance, rod side clearance, etc. They just come in handy. And inexpensive enough that if used for valve lashing they don't cost much to replace.

A degree wheel can be had from a cad program (print it out and glue to cardboard).