Visiting New York questions??

ghall

I will be staying in Montauk for the weekend at the end of September--flying in to Islip.My wife would really like to see some sights in the City--in particular the Statue of Liberty.
I was wondering if you guys could rec. some other interesting things to do or visit that would be near the SOL.Also rec. anything to avoid or look out for.

I know this is quite a drive into the city from Montauk---also wondering if the locals had an idea on how long of a drive this would be.Just trying to figure out if i should extend the visit another day and visit the city or just stay out there.

Any other comments for this trip would be great.I have very little knowledge of the area and would like to have a nice trip.

Thanks,

Geoff

Traffic to and from LI to NYC is rough. I'd take a train if I were you - it's a 3 hr ride but drops you off right in Grand Central. From there it's easy to get to lots of neat stuff if you're willing to do some walking: Empire State Building, NY Public Library, Radio City Music Hall, St. Pats Cathederal, Times Square, Bryant Park, etc. From Times Square you can take the 1 & 9 the whole way down to Battery Park where you catch the ferry to the Statue of Liberty. Wall St. is down there, as is Ground Zero. On the way back up you can check out Canal Street in Chinatown or Little Italy.

As long as you stick with the popular tourist sites you won't have any trouble. The subways aren't bad either if you don't get off the beaten path (too far north or off the island of Manhattan).

Jim

That's the kind of info i was hoping for---Thanks a bunch.

So does the train run all the way--from say Islip airport to the city---do i have to get a car to get from the airport to the train--does the train run non-stop(continuous???)--thanks for the help.

Geoff

ghall said:
That's the kind of info i was hoping for---Thanks a bunch.