charging system

lgonzalez_1986

dont know **** bout gns
hey you guys how do i check my entire charging system on my gn, i have a good battery and good alternator but my cars dies and i have to jump start it to turn it back on, so maybe i have a bad connection or a bad ground and i just put in a hot wire kit about a month ago. any suggestions may be any electrical experts here, fyi im new with these cars im use to mustang trouble shooting , thanks

I don't know if this problem is yours, but a common problem that prevents charging is if the volt light on the dash does not light when you turn the key on. The speedo case must make proper contact with the plug behind it, thus lighting the volt light, or your charging system will not charge.

After starting it check the voltage accross the battery should be above 12.5 volts min. up to 14.6 or so max.

When running also check from the back of the alternator stud to a good ground point either the batter neg. terminal or the cowl ground point or even the alternator case if clean.

Those readings should be within about .2 volts on a running car.

After that you need to check for a load when the car is off.

You need to do an ammeter test for that by removing the positive terminal and checking with the ammeter in series between the battery + and the cable + terminal and look for an abnormal amperage draw with the car OFF and doors shut and underhood lamp disconnected so there's no draw there.

Should be under 50 MILLIamps. draw usually around 10-20 would be normal.

Do the volts test first.

If you are talking about the ALT light in your dash, then yes, that will cause a problem. The system will not charge if the ALT light is burned out !!!

?ok and my dashboard is off would that cause a charging problem ?