.........Deer Hunters.......how's your season going?

Project TNX

Mine went great! :biggrin: I've been hunting for 24 years, deer hunting for 19 of those and I just got my first 10 pointer, woot!! I hunt in Marion County, WV and the land is unmanaged, no crops to speak of, and has been over hunted in general until recently. So while he's no monster buck, he's my trophy of a lifetime thus far. I've taken a lot of nice 8's, a nice 9, and even got a real nice 7 point this year as well but it's the first 10 harvested by any of us.

A dog was running deer on the hill beside me opening day and kicked out a really nice 7 point, no one was hunting with a dog, just another irresponsible owner whose dog was out running deer. :( The buck was with 8 doe, the doe ran behind me and the buck took a different escape route and was 40 yards below me. I shot him with my 257 Weatherby Magnum and he just keeled right over and proceeded to tumble down the mountain. He dressed out at 125 pounds and it took me 3.5 hours to get him out of the woods.

The weather was cold and snowy all week and the deer just weren't moving, it was the worst natural movement I can remember actually. I only saw a few does on Tuesday and Wednesday morning I still hunted up to a small spike, but tha was it.............right until Wednesday afternoon, that is.

Wednesday morning was cold and the snow on the limbs made it difficult to see anything. I didn't see any natural movement but I snuck up on a little spike. I had a massive headache and took a mid day nap, my alarm clock never went off and nobody was at the cabin to get my lazy ass up. So I woke up 2 hours later than I wanted too (thank god for that) and got all my stuff together and was going to go check out powerline clear cuts and see what I could see.