I'm a total newbie to turbo Buicks!

jbeier

I'm definitely not a newbie to turbo cars, but I just got my first Turbo Buick, an '84 T-Type. Traded my '92 Vette for it. So far I've ripped the top end apart to discover blown head gaskets. Luckily, it was leaking combustion gases into the lifter valley and not making a coolant/oil milkshake. I bought OEM style Victor Rienz gaskets for it and I'm waiting on the ARP hardware before I start reassembly. The heads and block are still flat, amazingly, so things are looking good. While I have everything apart, I'm doing my fair share of cleaning and refinishing and repair and all that good stuff. I know I'll catch crap for it, but I've also decided to add a front mount intercooler as well. I'll be changing the layout to put the throttle body post turbo to eliminate the potential for lag on a long charge pipe run. There will be a good amount of custom fabrication on this car, so I'll be sure to start a build thread if I can find a good place to put it without pissing off the hot air guys. I have respect for the guys who make the hot air cars fast with no IC, but I'm taking the easy way out, being a fabricator.

Have fun and don't be afraid to think outside the box. Good or bad. Post your honest results and you'll get respect here.
Also, use the search function to learn from other people's mistakes. Too many people here wont try something new or different because "That's not how it's done"!
I say "BS". Many people here say that things wont work or shouldn't be tried and have absolutely NO data to back up their point.

This is your thread. There are no stupid questions here. Ask anything you want. I find it refreshing to here an outsider's point of view. What else are you thinking of trying?

Welcome to the site and happy spooling.

Mike Barnard