You can type here any text you want

Opinions needed on timing chain project.

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Nighttrain

Okay guys, I need as much advice as possible. I have been talking about doing my major timing chain project for a while, and since I have a week off coming up I think I am finally going to do it. However, I am a total rookie at this stuff and I have done a lot of research on this and other sites about what I will need to do this job, ie) stuff I might as well replace since I'm opening up that much. Here is the complete list as far as I've been able to find out:
-timing chain (already have)
-water pump (already have)
-water pump gasket
-oil pickup? (someone said you might just clean the old one)
-oil pan gasket
-rear main seal (mine is leaking and suggested doing this since oil pan off)
-lower rad hose
-crank sensor
-cam sensor
-front cover
-front cover gasket
-oil pump
-oil pump cover gasket
-cam button
-cam thrust bearing
-2 cam bolts?
-teflon thread sealer
-permatex
-carb cleaner (to clean the intercooler while it is off)

As you can see, so far I just have some of the basics, but was about to order the rest of this stuff. Are there any items that you guys think I shouldn't bother with (if it ain't broke don't fix it kind of thing)? On the other side, are there any things I am missing? I certainly don't want it all apart and realize I need something that I have to order, as this is a daily driver, which is why I'm waiting for a week off when I don't need to drive it for a few days. Also, I was thinking of trying to take my time and carefully tackle this myself, I don't have an impact wrench or compressed air, but I am told I can get by without it? Also, are there any special tools that I am going to need? Of course any advice other than this would be appreciated. Thanks a lot guys, I really appreciate your input.

Peter