Shifter cable setup

Farrell5.0

When I got my car, it had a ratchet shifter and hacked up shifter plate. I wanted to go back to the stock appearance so I got a stock shifter from a member on here, new handle and applique overlay.

Anyways, I'm new to messing with automatics, so I'm clueless as to how the shifter cable is supposed to be set up. I got the stock shifter in and ran the cable underneath and got it in the bracket with the clip in place. Now, at this point the end that connects to the transmission is a little over an inch away.

I figure I'll move the bracket to the next set of holes on the oil pan....too far forward. Where it looks like it would work, one hole lines up, and another is blocked. I imagine that if this bracket were factory, everything would like up just right, or am I missing something here?

Also, the pin with the cotter pin that the end of the cable slides onto to connect the transmission, has threads on one side and doesn't fit through the hole where it connects to the transmission.

I feel like I dumbass because I don't know what to call any of these parts lol I'll provide pictures as I'm assuming this is hard to follow. Bottom line is, nothing seems to line up and I don't know what I'm doing.

(Disregard oily mess)

70dbae2623438e3d38cc55cb159e40df.jpg
79a87f02b8f11e229be398986daaef6b.jpg

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

The bracket that bolts to the pan rail is not correct. Likely came with the shifter and needs replaced with a stock one. Can't tell from that pic but the bracket that bolts to the shift shaft lever might be wrong also.

Did the cable come with the shifter or is it the cable that was on the ratchet shifter? All needs to be stock, also a cable for a stock three speed car is slightly shorter as well. Has to be from a 200-4r equipped car.

I have to agree, bracket on trans is not stock. Should be easy to find and a better pic of the cable would help.