X-Ray's rear downforce wing built by Coach

C

coach

This wing was designed by Rick Hunt. For those who do not know, Rick worked for ASC and hand built the first 5 GNX's. He then built what many consider the Ultimate Clone in X-Ray...the only White GNX. I am a HUGE FAN of X-Ray and my love of that car has lead to a great friendship with Rick.
Well he sent me a prototype file about a year ago. He knew I was an engineer and toolmaker and wanted to see if I could make it for him. It was for a NASCAR style rear wing for the autocross guys. It was designed to attach to the factory wing and be totally functional. Well I asked for a re-design to be used for drag racing. He did and I made one of each style. I manufactured the drag race style and installed it on my car last summer, but only made it to one Buick Event to show it. This will be the first glance most of you get to see it.
With my new stroker...maybe I'll actually go fast enough to see if it works...hahaha.
Now it needs a few design changes. I want to notch out the wing part to move it closer to the decklid wing. All in all, it looks pretty good I think.
Lets hear some feedback. This may turn into a product for sale in the future. Its all up in the air right now pending your feedback.

Thanks
Coach
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg

That is quite interesting. I like it. What if you were to notch the wing so it would move closer to the factory wing and leave a smaller gap?

D

That is quite interesting. I like it. What if you were to notch the wing so it would move closer to the factory wing and leave a smaller gap?

D