A/C conversion experts

BJM

I read the GNTTYPE conversion link which is really good. My question is this. The author of the article had to replace his A/C compressor so he put in some oil. On unopened systems he says to charge the system after evacuating with oil first and the the R134. Since the old R12 oil is incompatible with the new stuff, does it come out during the evacuation process?

Also, I assume the R12 that is left in the do it yourself method just gets dumped to the atmosphere (cringe), correct?

I have a set of R12 gauges and a old commercial vaccum pump. Do I need adapters to use these gauges? Are they adequate for this job?

Thanks,

I wrote that

...but I'm not an expert. Just bought a book and tools and did it.

The oil does come out with the evacuation process, though. Even if you're DIY, you can take it somewhere to have it evacuated and vacuumed down. Then you can add the R134 and new oil yourself.

You really should use R134 gauges. I'm not sure if adapters exist to use R12 gauges with R134.

HTH,

Jim

adapters do exist in some of the newer recharge kits or some of the local auto supply houses or refrigeration supply houses.HTH

My friend and I have done several cars. We are not experts and we have not done the Buick. The reasons for our conversions are failed compressors. We do the poor boy method:
- blow out evaporator and condenser with compressed air.
- use new o-rings wherever we break a seal
- use a new dryer and oriface tube/expansion valve.
- add esther oil per compressor manufacturer recommendation. usually very little.
- vacuum it down, verify hold vacuum.
- pump in r134, I don't know the pressures, he's the guru.

I know that our methods may not be what is recommended, and the oldest one has been in service less than 3 years, but we have no failures yet. Since we had problems with an adapter valve more than once, we agreed to use the old standard 12 gauges and connectors. The gauges are the same, only the connectors are different.