AC Question

nickygn23

Gentlemen quick question. I had my AC system completely redone about 8 years back. Compressor, orifice tube and dryer. I was leaving a cruise in and I noticed my compressor was cycling rapidly on and off. Year prior you could hang meat in my car it was so cold. Now hot air. I have never worked on an AC before, hence why I paid to have it done. I would like to try it myself. I watched some videos about using for product called AC Pro. Any suggestions before I start?

Attachments

• 20211017_131734.jpg
    20211017_131734.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 44
The gas has escape some where. But a quick can might get you past the summer heat or it could be 30 bucks that disappears in 2 days.
It cycling so it has gas in it and not empty I would put a can in it. If it was not cycling it needs to be checked over to find the leak.
So Im saying go for it.

The gas has escape some where. But a quick can might get you past the summer heat or it could be 30 bucks that disappears in 2 days.
It cycling so it has gas in it and not empty I would put a can in it. If it was not cycling it needs to be checked over to find the leak.
So Im saying go for it.
I appreciate the info. Thanks

When you had the AC redone, did they use the original R12 or switch it to R134a, refrigerant?
Using the AC PRO, or another method, you must get the system evacuated.
Biggest elephant in the room, someone must find the leak.

When you had the AC redone, did they use the original R12 or switch it to R134a, refrigerant?
Biggest elephant in the room, someone must find the leak.
Converted to the new stuff. R134a

Yes your correct, but OP said it is cycling , This would indicate some gas is in the system and no contamination has entered.
As for the elephant correct again, a can may get him to winter when AC Repear usually is not so expensive.

Yes your correct, but OP said it is cycling , This would indicate some gas is in the system and no contamination has entered.