Can I get some advise me on this TR buy? please?

70Nova355

He is a member of this forum, and some other buick ones, so Bill, you can tell me to buy it if you want, too :)

It's an '87 WE4, 180k miles, few dents on the car, paint a little rough.

Stock turbo,intercooler,dp,and Converter,42.5lb injectors,Extender chip,Trans+,3" mass air sensor,SMC single nozzle Alky kit,DuttwilerNeckand Power Plate.

Now here's my situation:
I'm a student, but have no real money issues. I'm not rich or really well off, but I don't have any debt, and I always have a little in my pocket.

Getting an exhaust done for the car would be very cheap for me. I can get it at cost for mandrel bent goods. My roomate works at a performance shop.

Also, i can paint the car myself. I know how, and I've painted cars before, with good outcomes. So that would be cheap.

The price on the car (for me) is $4500.

The mileage worries me a little, seeing that the motor/tranny/rear are still original, and that's kind of getting up there...

Are TRs still pretty strong runners when taken care of, at that mileage? I do know that the car has been taken care of.

Also, any guesses as to what it would run, given a good track, decent conditions, average driver, in good running shape?

Other than doing the regular maintenance things when bought, anything I should expect to do? I know there's the period of fixing little things, and tuning when you first buy a car....

Thanks for all the advise. I just want some positive support before I jump into it. That said, I've wanted a turbo buick for over 4 years now, and haven't been able to find one. I don't want to let this one go. AND, I drive a '90 Eclipse GSX with 178k miles, so I know if you take care of something, it lasts.... and I baby the hell out of cars when not at the track;)

Thanks again!
David

Hi Dave