Chips and MPG

Spoolin Hooligan

Off the wagon Boost Addict
I am always poking around here reading stories. trying to broaden my knowleadge. And i see 500+HP and 20+MPG. I just want a basic run down on how to get that. Because im under 400HP and i would be lucky if i get above 13MPG. I know i can do the math to find out the MPG, but do you people have aftermarket equipment that shows your MPG, and what kind of fuel, chip, and tune should i be looking at. Im a novice so basic info would help thanks.

x2
unless its because people live in flat areas getting the higher mileage. I get mid-upper teens at best on the highway with the hills around here

With the D5 lockup converter I would get 24-25 mpg on the highway. But thats trying for milage. A steady 60- 65 mph for several hours straight. Maybe a radical buildup or non lockup would do worse.

Even after my race with a Corvette. I managed to get 19.5 mpg. And that was with a bunch of hills. So I'm pretty happy.

Does your chip have lean cruise? Do you have a locking converter? Is it locking?

I get low to mid teen's with a non lock 3600 stall. That's with lean cruise. All things considered that's pretty good. I do like to take off pretty hard. Very rare I pull away from a light like a normal person. :D

RL

I made several passes all around 140mph last Friday. Drove 235miles to and from the strip. Averaged 17mpg overall including the passes I made. If I drove like a sissy id get 20mpg. This is starting with a full tank and ending with a full tank and dividing mileage by gallons used. Other readouts have proven to be inaccurate most of the time. If you have a small hyd roller and the block learn is around 128 cruising you should be getting similar mileage or better. I was light cruising at 15:1 with 42* advance. Kept a light foot in hilly areas. This is on a ptc 9.5" NL and slightly aired down MT et streets.