how stupid? rear differential

krazy86t

i'm not a professional auto mechanic - nevertheless i've managed ok with several projects on the TR and other cars (front suspension bushings, torque converter, engine mounts, body bushings, brakes, radiator, etc. etc.). take my time and i usually get it done and i'm happy with the results.

this time i screwed up.
drivers rear axle seal is leaking. pull diff cover to un-clip axles.
start pounding on center carrier pin, but it won't come out...because...I forgot that a small bolt holds it in place.
Pound on the pin harder with BFnH...because...still not remembering small bolt. :mad:
This is not working so begin to think it might be electrical problem. :confused:
finally realize need to remove bolt - duh! tap center pin opposite direction to relieve stress on bolt.
bolt comes out! :smile:
pound on center pin some more and it does not move at all. :confused:
hmmmmmmmmmmmm... the bolt i removed looks too short to engage center pin, and it looks sheared off on threaded end.:eek:

so, center pin is going no where until: 1) sheared off bolt is removed - this would be very difficult with carrier in differential housing as there isn't much room to drill out the bolt for reversing extractor, or 2) drill out center pin - PITA but doable and still need to remove retaining bolt remnant.

i might squeeze this 15 min job into several days of frustration if i'm lucky and someone has good ideas to replace my dumb ones.

Attachments

• tr posi bolt.jpg
    tr posi bolt.jpg
    43.1 KB · Views: 347
very common
they seem to be broken on nearly every gn rear ive taken apart , 50/50 on other cars

theres a tapered pin at the end of the bolt not full threads , it beraks off leaving about 1 thread of the bolt as you see and the rest is a thin pin