little bit of Porting (w/pics)

Chevman2448

I looked through my throttle body the other day and noticed that it needed some porting since I have an Acuufab TB with an OEM dog house. There was an edge around the entire TB (didnt take pics of that).

Now that I did that I noticed some things when I had the doghouse off. The lower intake was extensively ported (so were the heads from what I can see into the intake chambers) Maybe a bit on the severe side. Im no expert so Im not sure if they did go too far. I found 1 hole in each intake tube that are filled with what appears to be epoxy. Any info on this? Is my lower intake junk? I have a welder so I could weld it but I would have to buy the specific gun to do it. I tried to get a picture of the porting in the heads but all the pics cam out blurry.

That intake is pretty ported. Someone spent a lot of time on it. The EGR tower has been milled off and filled and everything smoothed. In real life it probable didn't add much power.

Those holes look like something someone would do if they wanted to hide a nitrous system. If you ever have the manifold off it might not be a bad idea to tap them and saltwater install an aluminum bolt from the bottom then grind them flush.

I actually thought about doing that with the holes. Or picking up an aluminum welding gun for my welder. The bolt idea is probably a better and cheaper option. I took it off because I wanted to check the hard vacuum lines for leaks and the Throttle body was in the way of the 10mm bolt that holds them on. I also noticed that there is an RJC racing power plate on there too. Im finding ALL kinds of goodies and work that isnt normally done on builds. Personally I would have saved money for a bit longer and opted for aluminum heads because time is money. I ported 305 chevy heads before for the fun of it and it was not fun.