Motor knock? Camshaft?

Jeasen

My TTA develops a knock when the motor gets to operating temperature. When cold no knock but it does not run as smooth as I think it should. It runs rough when cold and is worse when hot. I had some very knowledgeable Buick V6 guys listen to the motor when cold and then to the knock as it warmed up. The best diagnosis I received was it was due to a flat cam. If you shut the motor off and let it cool for a short period of time and restart it the knock is gone but it does not take long and it is back. The oil pressure is good at idle, over 60 when cold and above 25 when hot. I am going to tear into the motor and am planning to install a roller cam. I purchased a Comp Cams #69-400-8 cam, grind #269hr 218/212 from a member of the TurboBuick board.

I called Comp Cams and the tech guy thought that this would be a good cam for my car. I feel that it might be too big but I have no experience with roller cams in these motors. I thought it would be a good idea to ask some of the people that know these cars.

Is this cam too big for a TTA motor with bluetop injectors, a TA49 Turbo and a 3000 stall convertor?

Also has anyone ever experienced a knock like I described?

Time to pull the engine :frown:

You've got low oil pressure, and a knock. To check for a wiped cam lobe, pull the valve covers, and watch the rocker arms- you'll be able to tell pretty quickly if you have a cam problem. Cut open your oil filter and tell us what you find......

IMO that cam's a bit big, but it should work fine- consider that people had had much success with much smaller grinds (206/206, 204/214, 214/214), and that even the stock cam has been deep into the 11s.

Yup- got me- I was thinking (a dangerous thing to do when not awake!) and equated 25 psi with WOT, and put the two together.

Negate my last re low oil pressure......

Knock?