Need color for new paint ideas

GNRick

Retired member
I stole this pic from cars for sale thread. It belongs to Justa231. I hope he doesn't mind:biggrin: My car is the same color (dark red metallic) but the top surfaces are faded and needs new paint. I have chrome where this car in the pic has the black out option. I can either go with factory color or try a two tone. Any suggestions? Bodyshop wants to do a silver or grey two tone with the red on bottom. I just need hood, roof, trunk painted. Thanks!

Attachments

• red t.jpg
    red t.jpg
    106.4 KB · Views: 208
I don't know if it's just me but I hate 2 tone cars. IMO, they look horrible. I've been painting for quite a few years now and IMO, 2 tone if just a way to hide bad body work or make some "look" flashy.
I've always found it's the rims and the little stuff that really make the car.
The color combo your shop wants to go with would probably look odd, as silver and dark red are not a great combo to begin with. If they are planning on going that far, your going to have to clear the whole panel anyways (if they don't plan on doing it that way, take your car somewhere else) I'd go for a unified color of your choice.

But thats just me. What I've learnt in my years painting is that terrible colors can look pretty sweet on the right car and awesome colors can look like a pile of garbage on the nicest car you've ever seen lol

Stick with the factory color. Add a nice set of wheels maybe, even 17 inch wheels to make the chrome and color pop. I have seen it done and done well....

Attachments

• Copy%20of%20IMG_0938.jpg
    Copy%20of%20IMG_0938.jpg
    96.3 KB · Views: 160
That's a nice car. Anybody know if there is a website where you can change color of the car and see what it looks like? Kind of like tire rack where you can change wheels. Black might be good.

Ooops, I hope I didnt confuse ya. The car I posted isnt black. Its the burgandy(SP) like yours.

Attachments

• Mikes%20T.jpg
    Mikes%20T.jpg