Need help figuring why I'm running rich.

Polak420

Black Sunshine
Hello everyone,

I have a scanmaster in my car and it tells me that the O2 mil reading is in the 820-850 range with the pedal only a quater of the way down. I have 009 42 1/2 pound injectors, Casper's Electronics Ultra Chip, 160 degree thermostat Front Mnt intercoller, and Poston's Cold air kit. My fuel pressure is 42 at idle. I tried turning down the pressure, but that did not help. I only get about 160 miles on a full tank. This is a street car by the way. Any help would be great. You should see the insane amount of carbon buildup in my pipes from running rich so long. I hope my recently installed headers don't look like that. :(

Thanks for the help,
polak420.

P.S The CPU settings I drive with are the highest for pump gas. The spark timing is 20 at W.O.T

It could be something as simple as a bad 02 sensor?

how old is the one in the car now?
has that 02 sensor seen any leaded fuel possibly causing it to foul out?

BW

Thanks for the help every1. My O2 sensor is only a year old so I don't think that's it. I got another question for everyone. How do I set the boost with my adjustable wastegate. I don't have a aftermarket boost guage, and I don't plan on getting one until I get a digital dash from dakota digital. For now I'll just have to do guess work. I'll count the threads on the wastegate, but which way should I turn the screw to increase boost?? Unfortunately it is snowing here so I can't do a road test untill the snow is gone, but I'll still mess with the wastegate if I know how to set it.

Thanks for the help,
polak420

I don't have a aftermarket boost guage, and I don't plan on getting one until I get a digital dash from dakota digital. For now I'll just have to do guess work