new to the board and diggin it

TheRowdyJ

hi, i am rowdy.
i am a navy vet...desert storm through to 2005. was in iraq last year where i purchased an 84 grand national engine from a guy on ebay (i think he might be on here too). he has an 85 he wanted to build up and wanted cash for the 84, but it was the original block that came with the car, so i let him keep it and i would just take everything else. deciding i am a nice guy for doing that, he sent me all kinds of crap from ecu to headers, fuel rail still on the manifold...
everything but the block was sent...and for $500 bux, i thought i made out.
um..its still sitting in the crate almost 2 years later..lol. i wanna build it, but dont exactly know the specs. i wanna build a 4.1 stroker and just stick stock stuff on it and throw it in my 68 CJ5 jeep (which came with the dauntless v6 odd fire engine). but..ive read bad j00j00 on the 4.1 so i am gun shy.

i have a 3.8 odd fire for the jeep almost ready to go back in, but damn..i want a turbo motor.. :biggrin:

i have a 3.8 block in the garage thats rusty out of an 81 i think and there is a guy locally who has a complete 3.8 non-turbo i could buy for $100 and make SOMETHING out of them.

i have also kicked around the idea of building a stroker 4.1 with the stock trim i bought from this grand national and throw on it and drop it in a pinto. ive seen some quick pinto's and they dont take alot of power to push. i also heard that i could clock my turbo (on the 84) and run it down into an intercooler. nice..drops detonation, easier on an engine.