Normal engine idle for 87 GN

viokrome

I just bought an 87 GN a couple months ago and I am new to the quirks of these cars. After sitting a couple of days when I first start the car the engine idle will hunt up and down almost killing the engine but once the engine is warm it idles at about 2100 rpm fine. Is this normal? Also notice alot of condensation from the exhaust pipes. I am currently buying all the filters and fluids, plugs to go through the car for a good spring clean up. Car is all stock has only 42000 documented miles and a new coil pack and last owner said wires are new. Just want to get it right before I start driving it. Thanks for any help you guys can give and advice.

Are you looking at the stock tach. in the car to determine idle RPM?
Stock rpm is around 750.

My car did much the same when I bought it. High idle on a cold start. During my spring cleaning I found my IAC stuck in one position. Not sure if that would cause the problem. Idle speed will vary with your choice of chips & injectors, but it should usually be around 750-800RPM.

Good luck
~JM~

Ok guys now I am really confused, after doing some reading around the forums some say normal some not. I am going by the stock tach which some say is inaccurate. I guess a scan tool is going to be on the list of things to buy. I am going to do a IAC reset and check the TPS with my meter.

Hunting up and down with momentary excursions to 2100 is normal. Hot idle for the factory chip was 750 so 2100 at a hot idle is not normal.

just replaced the belt tensioner bearing so I am going to fire it up and let run to temp and recheck.