rjc 9 second recipe help

B00stJunkie

I'm going through the rjc recipes. I'mm going to be building a street car that out performs most cars but will be taken to the track some Fridays. My question is about their recipe is with the engine. Specifically the internals. It states that the rods are stock with arp bolts stock crank with, and here is were I'm confused ".01 rods .02 mains" can someone explain to me what this means. I'm new to engine building, although I do inderstand boring or stroking im just not getting what they mean. And also they have +.030 trw pistons. Is that bored 3 thousandth over stock. Dont burn me too bad, still learning here. Thanks

thats old school recipe before the availability of offshore parts for the v6
these days we have better piston choice than the old .030 over trws (as it reads thats 30 thousandths overbore not 3 thou) .
the better pistons would be JE .020 forged floating pin , or CP, wiseco etc

and better choices for cranks with all the forged cranks available at relatively cheap price and stroker cranks are more the norm as back when the recipe was written there was stock , the BMS stage stuff (not cheap) and carrilo billet (big bucks$$$)

same goes for rods with the H beam forged stuff like Molnar/K1/Scat with arp bolts and bushed pin for floating pin piston ,,, theres no reason to use 25year old used rods

thats said you can get fully forged rotating assembly these days at around 1600, thats a forged crank (std 3.4" stroke or stroker 3.625") , forged pistons like wiseco or JE (your choice on oversize), and H beam rods like K1/scat in stock length or longer for stroker kits
add a balancer and cat SFI flexplate and still be under 2K for the bottom end