Running Rich......

87TurboGirl

Ok here is the deal. I have had alot of problems with my car every since we bought it. We just recently rebuilt the engine, now my hubby says it is running rich.

At WOT I get alot of black smoke and the car is stalling as if it is cutting out. Falling completly on its face. Feels kinda like you floor it and then take your foot of the gas suddenly. I am trying to run 10lbs of boost on 93 octane.

I have a scan master and something we noticed is the first screen with O2's and retard. Before the rebuild my number seemed pretty normal (or so I was told) now they are as follows

O2's are anywhere from 100-890

retard says .06 - 11.5

the retard is what is bothering me. I have never seen numbers there before.

Any ideas on what could help? Or even what the problem could be? Anything will be helpful.

The chip is probably set up for around 15-16psi boost (if its a street chip), which means it will supply fuel for that amount. If you run 10psi, it will be very rich because the chip is expecting 15. Running too rich can cause knock (in addition to running too lean). Also the richness may be causing it to cough and stall at WOT.

You "should" be able to run more boost than 10psi on 93octane (you get 93 down there?). You might try increasing boost a little at a time to lean it out (keep an eye on knock). The O2 readings are only useful at WOT and typically should be around 800-820 area on pump gas.

If you only want to run 10psi, then you may need a chip tweak or start turning the fuel pressure down, but I don't think you'll get the pressure down far enough to take that much fuel out.
Let me know if need anything, I can help in the chip area, and I'm not that far from you.

Regards,
Eric

Yes we can get 93 here at one gas station near the airport. Usually I only get 92 at amaco.

We've tried turning up the boost with no luck we still get the same results. We will try it again.