some questions about speed pro

F

fastrucken

im fairly new to the whole speed pro system ( its actually on my friend's car). He reciently had to replace the cam due to a flattining lobe. now the motor doesnt run right. I started adj the speed pro and started to work out some of the hiccups but we decided to call it a night when we quit. we started to think about it a while and we didnt see a reason that it should run that different. It was running way lean during a cruise around the block and pop thourgh the intake... thats when i fattened it up. what we were wondering that since we were having to add more fuel that would be a good thing ?? any info would be really be a great help to get this 720hp motor running smothly again

Couple questions

Same cam? Popping up the intake, yeah if its real lean. If valve(s) are too tight would give same problem and also cause a lean condition. Something to check. If all things are same I'd give it a solid mechanical check. Does it idle @ same kPa? That's a good indication if something is different or if a vacuum leak may exist. Specially since it was just put back together. Good Luck

Here is the story with the car. I discovered the lifters (hydraulic roller) digging into the side of both the intake and exhaust lobe on cylinder #5 on my supercharged 408 (stroked 351W). So I replaced the cam with one exactly like it since the car ran so well (617rwhp). I also intsalled it exactly in the same position ( 2 degrees retarded). I verified the rockers are not set tight by checking each rocker arm at TDC for each cylinder with the wiggle check. Each rocker moved so they are not set tight.