street driven car

svtnos

hey im new to the darkside :cool: i was thinking about how fast i want to go. well i decided that i want to be able to drive the car daily. i have another car that is daily driven but i guess i should say streetable. id be happy with a high 10 second car. what step as far as mods should be done? where should i start with the car? it has a 3inch stainless steel catback and a k&n right now. any advice would be great! thanks!

Here is a direct link to performance upgrades and the cost involved. It is very good. Make a budget.... follow this recipe and you will be good to go.

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/recipes/Staged1.html

lose the cat.... and replace with a straightpipe ;) free HP.

BTW- The stock turbo/intercooler/downpipe should get you into the 12's with ease with sticky tires (hint). Get some sticky tires out back. 275/50/15 Nitto Drag Radials fit on a stock GN or TType rim and work great for everyday driving rain/shine. This tire will get you into the 11's if needed. Slicks obviously are better... but stretch your dollar and invest in other parts first.

Put in AC Delco CR43TS spark plugs, pull off the intercooler and clean it with 1-2 cans of brake cleaner until no more black oil buildup comes out (oil mist lowers the fuel octane rating) and then flush with water. Use pressurized air to dry and let sit in sun to make sure it is dry inside before reinstall. (the intercooler cleaning isn't necessary.... but it is nice to know that you are running a more free flowing intercooler also. Get a boost guage also and an EGT guage which helps with tuning.

Here is where I got my guages and I like them. You can get AutoMeter/VDO also..... but why spend more?

http://www.westach.com/

they make aircraft guages and they are accurate

GNX7