Using a cloyes 5 under roller chain on stock motor

CARTMAN

Has anyone used the Cloyes .005 under chain on a stock (non line bored) motor? Will it fit?

I'm worried about the regular length roller chain having too much slack after it stretches a bit. Or am I being paranoid and will the regular length roller chain be OK?

If you use the stock set up ,run the tensioner. That's why its there. I would not run .005 under in a non line bored engine,nor do I know if it would fit. These cars do not have a lot of timing chain issues.

Has anyone used the Cloyes .005 under chain on a stock (non line bored) motor? Will it fit?

I'm worried about the regular length roller chain having too much slack after it stretches a bit. Or am I being paranoid and will the regular length roller chain be OK?

Just use the standard size chain. I have been running one in an engine for 8 years with no issues.

Usually a .002 works great for a stock replacement usage...

K.

I had a standard size cloyes in my engine and after about 5k miles I had to pull the engine apart due to wiped cam ( can you believe that LMAO) and the chain was stretched real bad.

This engine I went with a comp unit#3129

If you use the stock set up ,run the tensioner. That's why its there....... These cars do not have a lot of timing chain issues.

+1.... the key words being STOCK SETUP..... if using a (any) double roller, DON'T use the tensioner!! as the roller will eat it up and the little shredded plastic pieces will hinder the lubrication of your engine... :eek:

Speaking of a STOCK timing chain setup, how long should it last? Still have under 30K on an unopened motor. Is it age or mileage that kills the plastic coated cam gear??