What management system for 120's or 160's?

jdpolzin

Guys, what needs to be done to run these injectors? I'm not good at all with tuning and am a little nervous jumping into a Fast XFI but I will if I need to. I would prefer to have a chip from Eric and be done with it. Are there drivers large enough to run these on the stock ECM?

Jer., myself and TomJ are running 120's with Tpro. The car runs great and has not had any issues with a modded ECM. Had BS3 and didn't get much tuning help from anyone. It was kind of a step bakwards, but the car runs so well, and the Tpro/E85 has almost been in the 9's already....

Do you know where to get a modded ECM though? I'm thinking about the XFI system and can get one at a fare price. My only worry is blowing the darn thing up because I dont honestly know what what I'm doing. What do you think of the XFI?

The BS3 and XFI are both totally capable of getting the job done. Problem typically is the end user that doesn't put the time in reading instructions, exploring the software and generally not understanding tuning.

Electrically, once the ecm is modfied for low impedance injectors it can drive any of the standard sizes (and form factor to fit our fuel rail), up to and including the 160's. The only issue is that the idle pw will be short and thus the idle control may suffer a little (slight surging, etc). This starts somewhere around the 95's or 120's on gasoline and can be a problem with 160's although I'm sure some have run 160's with the stock ecm. However, the E85 will help this by needing longer pw's than gasoline so 120's shouldn't be a problem and even the 160's may idle just fine.

I believe Full Throttle Speed still does the driver upgrades and then Eric can take you from there. If you don't want to shell out over $2k for a Fast and then tuning it yourself than it's an easy choice. Eric's run E85 so he knows what's up and getting chips with the tune built in is pretty nice. :smile: