02 help

denn454

turbo swimmer
i made my own o2 reader today, few pieces of wire and a multimeter. its cheap, looks like some redneck hillbilly thing to do, but its a lot better than nothing.

anyways i can't make sence of the numbers.

idle is anywhere from 520 down to 450
cruise is in the 600's depending on the speed and rpm...
full throttle really confuses the hell out of me. when i hit it i jump up to 890 or so, it stays there till about 60mph then drops down. at about 80mph ts running about 815mv

I know mid 800's are the number to look for but when do you want to see that number?

The numbers don't mean anything unless your at WOT or running an open loop chip. The stock o2 at non WOT is constantly switching back and forth across about 400 to 440mv depending on which scan tool your suing trying to achieve a ~14.8:1 air fuel ratio so as long as you have a decent amount of o2 cross counts thats about all you care about.

sorry, i'm completely new to this, what are or how do you get cross counts?

and is there any one point where i should take the numbers at, and tune accordingly?

ok, at the track i was getting right at 820 crossing the finish line. that sounds a bit rich to me, but its lower at lower rpm's. should i just lean it down a bit and call it good?

Well, as long as you weren't seeing knock you could lean it down a little or run more boost and see if the MPH picks up since thats the true signal your making more power. Just watch that knock and tune for highest MPH.