You can type here any text you want

Brake problem

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Turbo_nthuzist

Hello to all,

This is my first TT, so I'm new to this powermaster system. :confused: So I need some advice. When I step on the brake pedal hard, my brake light comes on for about a second or two then it shuts off. If I step on it lightly, the light does not come on. I also get a whining noise. Doesn't matter if I press the pedal hard or soft. I've read some of the old threads and it seems that the accumulator ball is my suspect. If any one has any other ideas what the problem could be, please share. Also when I checked the reservoir half of it was full and the other half was almost empty. I know that this sounds stupid but is this normal? :confused:

Thanks,
Nick.

Firstly, I am not an expert on this system. Matter of fact, mine gave me problems and is no longer on my car. I converted to vacuum, I'm thrilled with the brakes now and never looking back at that POS Powermaster.

Do you have a problem other than you see the dash light? It could be that your fluid level is low. It could be a about a dozen other things too. Nothing is cheap any more on these units, so if the fluid is low, add some first and bleed the system if necessary. Check your calipers for leakage also.

Because the entire brake system is self contained, the whining is the motor/pump rebuilding pressure each time you use the brake. If the brakes are used and you hear the pump running several seconds then shutting off, this is normal. If it constantly cycles on/off and you're not using any brake, this is abnormal. If it never shuts off, this is abnormal. If it never runs, this is also abnormal.