Connecting Oil Pressure Sending Unit to VDO GNX Style Gage Cluster

gn87man

First off, I am a total rookie at wiring....

I currently have a GNX style gage cluster in the car. Before I had my old engine removed, the oil pressure readout at the gage was working fine.

The guy who removed my engine misplaced the oil pressure sending unit. I am assuming he also removed the oil pressure wire that runs through the firewall to the back of my cluster because I do not see a wire running through the firewall that would be used for the oil pressure sending unit. All wires running through the firewall have been accounted for.

So now I have to purchase a new oil pressure sending unit and wire it to the back of the oil pressure gage on my VDO GNX style cluster.

What the is part # and where do I purchase a compatible VDO Oil Pressure Sending Unit for my VDO GNX style gage cluster?

Once I receive the oil pressure sending unit, how do I wire the VDO Oil Pressure Sending Unit to the back of my VDO GNX style gage cluster?
Anyone have pictures of this installation?

I have attached pictures of the front and back of my VDO GNX gage cluster. One of the pictures is the back of the oil pressure gage.

Thank you so much in advance for any help.

Attachments

• 20180520_184038.jpg
    20180520_184038.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 113
  • 20180520_184129.jpg
    20180520_184129.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 125
  • 20180520_184218.jpg
    20180520_184218.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 128
The original "sending unit" is a just a switch that toggled the idiot light in the dash. It also served as a backup method to energize the fuel pump relay to enable the car to limp home in case of ECM failure. The wire for it runs through the engine harness and comes in with that mess behind the glove box. You should check the harness behind the alternator and see if they just cut the wires. If they did, you can splice an extension back in and not have to run a new wire all the way back.