You can type here any text you want

I'm a Newbie...

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

91Bird305

I am not sure if Brian (Turbobuick on AIM and Motown Muscle) is on here but he, but I know fly89gta (Tony), along with a large group of turbo guys, recommended me here to do some research before I started this project.

I am lookin to swap in a 86-87 GN engine. Just curious if anyone locally has done this before with an Fbody. I have talked to others who have and it doesn't seem that hard. With the 86-87 GN engine everything pretty much bolts up but I will loose my A/C due to the type of heads the GN engine uses. Which is really no big deal since my A/C has been gone for 2 years now. I figure I would go to Gary Cook for some aftermarket headers and a custom downpipe and have them coated. Everyone says he does great work. But do I really need custom headers made or can I go with the stock ones from the GN or TTA and have them coated? My exhaust I have now is a full 3" cat-back. Not sure on the size intercooler yet. Is a stock intercooler safe enough or would I want to go bigger?
I wanted to fully port and polish the heads, 5 angle valve job. Port matched intake. And I am not absolutely sure on a cam size yet since I have just touched base on that. I have had a couple guys recommend a few numbers
212/206 or 210/210 or 214-210 cam
I want to go with billet main caps, rebuild the engine from top to bottom so I know everything is gonna work right when I drop it in.