Newbie to GN's with a few questions

fordh8tr

Hello all. I am somewhat new to GN's and wanted to learn a few things. I hope this doesn't seem annoying as there might be a lot of people asking the same questions. But, a few things i am wanting to find out are: Does a "109" block simply refer to a casting on a block, basically meaning a stock GN block? What is the difference between 8 bolt and 14 bolt heads? What are stock GN's 8 or 14 bolt?

I have minor knowledge of "Stage" motors. I think that they are Busch Series motors and other factory "race" motors. Are the factory GN motors the "Off-center" motors and the "Stage" motors the "On-center" motors? At what amount of HP is a "Stage" motor recommended or is it more of a novelty to say that i have a "Stage" motor? I know that usually turbo cars have better street manors at higher power levels than built V8's with the same power... so from expirience, what are some of the higher HP levels with GN's that can still be driven daily? I would really like to start with stock or pretty close to stock GN and build a motor for it and have a daily driver that i can take to the track and post at least 11's consistantly.

thanks for any thoughts posted. Any other general knowledge would be great. Other newbie's may find it useful.

Hello all. I am somewhat new to GN's and wanted to learn a few things. I hope this doesn't seem annoying as there might be a lot of people asking the same questions. But, a few things i am wanting to find out are: Does a "109" block simply refer to a casting on a block, basically meaning a stock GN block? What is the difference between 8 bolt and 14 bolt heads? What are stock GN's 8 or 14 bolt?

The 109 block is the stock GN block- 109 refers to the last 3 numbers of the GM part #. Stocks heads are 8 bolt; Stage heads are 14 bolt.