You can type here any text you want

Oil cooler

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

87 national

I am new to the whole turbo buick thing and I just rebuilt the motor for my car and was wonder where the oil cooler is suppose to go to on the motor because the tube that comes out of the radiator is blocked off with a cap was wondering if anyone had pictures or diagrams that would help me out thanks

the oil cooler lines connect onto the oil filter housing right by the oil filter.most did away with them after rebuilds.

I am new to the whole turbo buick thing and I just rebuilt the motor for my car and was wonder where the oil cooler is suppose to go to on the motor because the tube that comes out of the radiator is blocked off with a cap was wondering if anyone had pictures or diagrams that would help me out thanks

It might be a good idea to leave the oil cooler blocked off in the radiator if you don't know the reason the previous owner did that.

If the oil cooler gets contaminated for some reason from an engine failure it can't just be cleaned out it would have to be replaced. If you do use it what ever was in the oil cooler will now contaminate your new motor's oil system.

If you put a cooler back on I would get an Earls oil cooler with -10 lines. They are expensive but they are quality ;). Dont hook the stock one back up because of contamination like the others said, same goes for the trans cooler.

My 2 cents, I would definitely get an external cooler with a thermostatic sandwich adapter. This is an under-appreciated thing to do. But get a free-flowing "heavy duty" type cooler, because the pump drive on these engines is not the strongest. You really don't want the pump to see anything more than the stock 40 psi.

Like I said, my 2 cents.

--Jim Howard

Another 2 cents -- if there's a possible issue with contamination, get a new radiator!

--Jim Howard