Is it Time for the Track

TryMeGT

Just rebuilt the engine with new bearings, crank and rings. The cam, lifters and push rods were already broken in before the tear down. Since re-assembly I have put a little over 600 miles on the motor. Did an oil change at ~75 miles and another one at ~500. Both oil changes looked clean. I have slowly let the motor see boost. So far it has only seen 13lbs and that was getting on the expressway. I have not floored the car from a dig or a roll yet either. I was thinking about taking her to the track for a couple shake down passes. Do you think its time? 2 rebuilds in 2 years makes one a little gun shy.

One of those things, I know it is ready, but you want a bunch of fellow turbo guys that have raced a lot more and faster than me to say "Hell yeah, let her rip"

One of those things, I know it is ready, but you want a bunch of fellow turbo guys that have raced a lot more and faster than me to say "Hell yeah, let her rip"

well i have zero experience but hey, go for it

hell ya let her rip. just make sure you have the boost turned down for the first few runs. dont want to go WOT and peg a 30 pound boost gauge.

Tell me about the 2 rebuilds in 2 years.....
As long as the O2 looks good on the scanmaster, Hell yell, let her rip!

Chuck

First rebuild was when I spun #4 rod bearing. Tore the motor down had it align bored, and balanced with a stock crank. Put her back together and raced at BG and Norwalk, OH. Over rev'ed on a pass and it was ticking. Stopped racing!! Got it home and started searching on the upper half. Couldn't find the problem, Pulled the motor and found the bearings with less than 2000 miles to be trashed. DS saw little if no knock on the pass. My assumption is that metal went into the oil cooler when #4 bearing went bye bye(I did not have it flushed). Put the fresh motor in and metal came right back in and took the bearings out. This rebuild had a new radiatior, eagle crank and fresh bearings!!!!