New timing cover

DannyJov

Do Not Buy From Me
I'm pretty new to turbo buicks and especially picking up wrenches but I dug myself into a hole already. I bought my 84 GN a year back and the motor and trans were a mess so I got both rebuilt..the trans was done by well know mechanic in my area and my engine was rebuilt by some moron that took 9 months for the entire build up.. Not only is that quite some time(which doesn't bother me too much) but if it takes that long it better be done right.
Anyways my car was running great last weekend until I tried dropping the oil pan to replace my gasket. I haven't gotten to it because I noticed a huge antifreeze leaks coming from my timing cover. I got in there and saw that its crack!!!! Yes it is sure cracked!! So basically I dig my way down to the cover and Im at the the bolt holding it in.. I can't break it loose with anything!
Now this is when I start to realize I dug myself into a deep hole...very deep.
Can anyone toss some advice over my way or maybe proper instructions on how to replace this the proper way(I can turn a wrench pretty much) I want to do this one time and never want to think about it again. Any help or input is greatly appreciated
ImageUploadedByTurboBuick Mobile1382336555.003981.jpg

Posted from the TurboBuick.Com mobile app

That is your crank bolt. It should be torqued to 220ft. Lbs. A 3/4 6 point socket and a air impact wrench works best. Its hard to keep the engine from spinning without it.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk now Free

when you do get the old cover off - contact earl brown here on the board and get a new cover/oil pump from him. he does great work, very knowledgable and a good guy. and you wont have to worry bout it again.

Funny you should mention that. I JUST finished building a timing cover less than 5 minutes ago!