oil leaks! ??

neilb

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the turbo Buick world and just finished building my first 109 block. My question is with only a few thouasand miles on the fresh engine and only running 10 psi, both valve cover Gaskets and my oilpan gasket are leaking. Is the normal? Or do I have some serious blow by? Any suggestions on what gaskets to use? Thanks!

hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the turbo buick world and just finished building my first 109 block. My question is with only a few thouasand miles on the fresh engine and only running 10 psi, both valve cover gaskets and my oilpan gasket are leaking. Is the normal? Or do i have some serious blow by? Any suggestions on what gaskets to use? Thanks!
resnug the bolts & hope for the best..gaskets shrink some .

Don't always assume that the oil pan is leaking just because theres oil there. I just chased down a leak that originated from one of the two timing cover bolts that retains the crank sensor bracket. Oil would flow down and around the pan rail. Only would leak under boost.

Allan G.

I know its the oil pan in this case, because it looks like the gasket has been pushed out or split at one of the corners. I used all felpro blue baskets, and cork valve cover gaskets with the TA aluminum valve covers. The car smells and smokes like crazy under boost. But not from the tail pipes. I think its all the oil being pushed out and spraying onto the exhaust crossover.