You can type here any text you want

1981 turbo questions, need answers pls

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

TURBOELKY

I dont seem to hear anything going on when I get on the gas in my new but used 81 turbo regal. The only time the orange light on the boost gauge comes on is when I punch it at 65 or so on the freeway. do these turbo's whistle or make any noise at all? I did notice it has an adjustable waste gate actuator, so I tightened it up, to no change. There is a vaccume hose missing on the back of the actuator peice that connects to something else :confused: I cant find a engine diagram anywhere to trouble shoot what hose is missing. also where does the map sensor hose go, that is off too. I figure the combination of the two vaccume hoses causes the turbo not to spool??? I am new to these engine combo's, i'm a lost cause right now, please help!!! :eek:

Does the wastegate actuator rod connect in front or behind the pivot point on the wastegate? If behind (closer to the firewall):
1981 WASTEGATE ACTUATOR - For 1981, Buick changed the wastegate actuator from a normally closed design, to a normally open design. It was an attempt to improve fuel economy that was quickly abandoned in 1982 in favor of increased performance. (The NC design has more precise boost control.) The 1981 unit can be identified by the use of only one vacuum hose (instead of two). To accommodate this change, the wastegate lever on the elbow was rotated 180 degrees. A conversion is as simple replacing '81's actuator and elbow with '82/'83 units. If the turbocharger has been replace, this may have already been done.

more here: http://home.flash.net/~rjgeorge/tnotes.htm

The MAP should be connected to the same tubing as the wastegate actuator. You really need a good boost gauge to see what's going on.

the