You can type here any text you want

85 grand national with intercooler

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

86SS86LS

I'm new to turbo buicks here. Just saw an ebay listing for an 85 GN with an aftermarket intercooler added. Can the 84-85 turbo buicks come close to having the same power as the 86-87 with an added intercooler? Also how much less are the 84-85's worth when compared to the 86-87's?

Welcome. :biggrin:
An 85 with an IC should at least equal the power of a stock IC car. Maybe the questions are;
What are your goals as in ....... how fast do you want to go and/or how collectable a car would you like to have? :confused: :confused:

To answer your questions; 1. I want to be nearly as fast as an 86/87 GN - Grand Nationals have quite a reputation, I'd hate to own a slow one and 2. I am not really concerned with collectibility - I've always liked the styling of the GN and 84-87 basically look the same. Buying an 85 would allow me to get into turbo buicks on my budget, I could always trade up to an 86/87 later on.

i saw that same buick....for teh dollars, i dunno...I would have to see the car in person to be a cecent judge on the value....If the body is straight, and everything is complete, and the car is running decent, then yeah, the money it is at right now is a worthwile investment....That is a spearco set-up, wich is nto the most efficient IC for the car, but none the less, if the ride is up-to-snuff, it can run par with a stock 86-87 GN or very close.....

If you really want a IC gn, there are always a few cheap ones, under $5 g's that are running but need bodies, or some type of physical work...as long as you can get that LC2, you can find any old regal with a sweet body to do the swap....keep the rear, the trans and engine computer/harness, and that is the $5 g's right there!