Brake rotor upgrade

Ok, I have no experience with Buicks, but I know that in my WS6, the slotted/cross drilled didn't stop any better than a normal rotor. Now, the f-bodys had the crappiest rotors I've even seen stock, so the upgrade DID accomplish one very important thing - It kept them from warping. I would think pad choice would play a bigger part in stopping with stock calipers than a slotted / cross-drilled rottor. This is from f-body experience, so that that for what it's worth :)

- Matt

That was my experience, too, on a totally different car. I put drilled/slotted rotors on the front of a Mazda 323 GTX I used to own. They did nothing to improve braking performance, but they did end my problem with rotor warping. I've been told that braking power only really improves with MORE rotor mass (i.e. bigger/thicker rotors) because that increases heat absorption. Drilling and slotting only removes material from the rotor, so that would be bad if you stay with stock-size rotors. But if you go to BIGGER drilled/slotted rotors, maybe you get the best of both worlds.

Slotting and/or drilling started due to the degasing of the pads. It gave the gas a place to escape and kept the pad in contact with rotor, sorta like hydraplaning, and kept a clean surface on the pads..... no glazing. That is where the performance improvement came from. Todays performance pads and high grade pedistrian pads don't suffer from this condition as methods to bond the friction to the backing plate have improved.

As for the warping problem, this is two fold. One, NEVER clean wheels with rotors hot and 2. ALWAYS TORQUE THE WHEELS ON. This becomes even a bigger issue with aggressive driving and the rather small 10 1/2 rotors used on the f/g bodies.