You can type here any text you want

Gas in oil ???

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

chicagoTTA

Crack Baby
Hey all!

In the process of changing my oil. Two issues.

First, can anyone send me the engineer who put the oil filter under all that shiznit? Had to use a ouiji board, my best zen master technique, and the jawz-of-life to get that f**ker out. I'd like to modify his facial structure a little bit.

Second, and seriously now. My oil smells a bit like gas. I'm not a seasond mechanic (all though I'm pretty good), and have never come across this before. Is it possible that some gas got in? It's not TOTALLY overwhelming of a smell, but it certainly smells noticably like gas without having to stick my face in it. I noticed it the second I started unscrewing the filter.

????

What should I look for (if anything) ?

Originally posted by chicagoTTA
Hey all!

In the process of changing my oil. Two issues.

First, can anyone send me the engineer who put the oil filter under all that shiznit? Had to use a ouiji board, my best zen master technique, and the jawz-of-life to get that f**ker out. I'd like to modify his facial structure a little bit.

Amen to that brother!

Same thing here this week

I've read about a gas smell while changing oil, but not experienced it before this oil change. I've been tuning lately, with O-2 voltage in the 780-850 mv range.

I'm going to take Razor's advice and change the oil and filter every thousand miles from now on.

lee :)

Pull the dipstick out and put a match to it.... If it lites on fire you have problems (bearings). If it doesent and you had the oil in the motor for a couple thousand miles then should be ok.

The latter would be gas getting past the rings at higher boost levels or your rings are getting old. Do a leakdown test and make sure everything is up to par. Autozone sells the kit for like $20.00