You can type here any text you want

Hear Turbo Spool

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

HighDesert-T

Okay, I am new to this Turbo thing. I just got done cleaning 20 years of grime and gunk out of the carb and off the motor. Replaced all the air filter elements too. You don't even want to know how dirty they all were. Just a crying shame. Well, she can breath now and that is a good thing.

On to the questions.

1. Should you be able to build boost while in park? For instance should your boost meter change while in park and reving the motor?

2. The secondaries on this carb, are they some kind of Vac controlled? Computer controlled? Or what? When I kick down on it while in Park they will not open. Is this Normal?

Please be patient guys, this is all new to me and want this car to have the respect on the street that it should.

THanks.

Originally posted by HighDesert-T

On to the questions.

1. Should you be able to build boost while in park? For instance should your boost meter change while in park and reving the motor?

No, the turbo needs a load on it to build boost. Put it in drive (with nothing in front of you) and push hard on the brake, now slowly add rpm's, at around 1600-1900 you should start to hear the turbo start to whistle

2. The secondaries on this carb, are they some kind of Vac controlled? Computer controlled? Or what? When I kick down on it while in Park they will not open. Is this Normal?

More like vac, they are not CC. Try to open them with the car off and warm(level on passenger side will stop them from opening cold) Get Doug Roe's book on Q-jets

Please be patient guys, this is all new to me and want this car to have the respect on the street that it should.

THanks. [/B]

Get a good boost/vac gauge, check my web site for some of my mistakes(it's a slow work inprogress), but most important READ B4Blacks site (LOTS of GREAT STUFF)