You can type here any text you want

Idle in open loop or closed?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

v8zcar

Hello, I'm a real newbie at this and I've read as many threads as possible on the subject of installing, tuning, and using the FAST system.

I will soon attempt to fire up my engine and I have read here that it is better to have idle in open loop. If I do so, how do I know that when first cranking the motor, I am too rich or lean (aside from pulling the plugs each time)?

If I could crank and watch the 02 readings, make some adjustments, and crank and watch the 02 readings, wouldn't that be easier?

Also, is there a danger or damaging the 02 sensor during this phase when I'll be basically using the hit and miss method to get my engine to fire and then idle?

Does everyone normally play with the VE table first? or the cranking tables, etc?

Short list of specs
383SBC
FAST B2B WB02
TPIS Miniram 2
#36 lb injectors
MSD 6AL, SS Blaster coil

A sample .gct file would greatly be appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Owen

Owen-

Idling in open/closed loop is something to worry about after you get the car running right.

Generally speaking, the cars usually crank over and start the first time you try, I would just have a timing light handy to make sure the timing on the car matches what the computer thinks it is. If the car doesn't start, you can listen and judge by feel- if the motor spins really freely, chances are you are too lean. If the motor cranks slowly and you smell gas, it is too rich. You'll be able to tell when you try it.

The oxygen sensor won't be useful during cranking- raw fuel doesn't show up well, and the sensor isn't up to temperature yet anyhow. The O2 sensor needs more of a steady-state running condition before it will be useful.