You can type here any text you want

Need BOV?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

GNVenom

Yeah, I know, it's a rice-tainted question but here goes. I completed my latest ride with twin turbos, leeeetle tiny ones, and drove it for the first time last night. Spooled the turbos, but during decel, they scream terribly. Maybe it's because of the wide open side pipes amplifying the noise, but there seems to be quite a bit of hammer on the compressor side. So the question is, would it be wise to put in a blowoff valve to prevent damage to the compressors?

Here is the ride at the World of Wheels in Chicago:

http://www.gnspyder.com/spyder-collage.jpg

Need some expert advice here.

-John Spina

I'm no expert but I had to respond because lordy, that is one purty automobile!!!!! I bet it was a big hit at the show.

As for the bov, so long as it's properly set up so it doesn't open when you want it closed, it can't hurt and might help so I'd put one on.

I know the smaller Mitsubishi turbos have fairly small thrust bearing setups and will wear out rather quickly without a blow off valve.

Haven't heard of the smaller Garrett turbos failing due to compressor surge.

BB's scream terribly anyway, kinda normal.

If it surges or gurgles then I'd worry.

747 ready for takeoff. :)

Originally posted by GNVenom
Yeah, I know, it's a rice-tainted question but here goes. I completed my latest ride with twin turbos, leeeetle tiny ones, and drove it for the first time last night. Spooled the turbos, but during decel, they scream terribly. Maybe it's because of the wide open side pipes amplifying the noise, but there seems to be quite a bit of hammer on the compressor side. So the question is, would it be wise to put in a blowoff valve to prevent damage to the compressors?

I'd say just cob, a BOV together, and see if it cures it.