Putting a turbo 3.8 in my stang

chris88lx

I'm interested in this swap, but I have a few questions.

1. If I go ahead and put in the Buick powerplant, can I retain my
T-5 transmission? I relly hate automatics.

2. With some simple bolt-ons, maybe a stroker kit, and some nice
flowing heads/intake, what can I expect for horsepower?

3. As this car is my daily driver, would it be best to park it for a
while and plan on it being down for quite some time?

4. Is there anyone out there who is available to help me with the
technical side of it (i.e., wiring, motor mounts, etc...)? Possibly
for monetary compensation?

5. Should I just sell the Mustang and buy a GN/GNX/T-Type like
everyone else? Would it be easier? Cheaper?

If someone could help me out with some starting points, I would be most grateful. I am fairly new to the Turbo-6 crowd, but I love the sound of a turbo and the style of the GN's is awesome. There are a couple reasons I would be considering this swap in my Stang, number one because I feel an emotional attachment to the car, and number two because it's unique, and no one else in this area has done such a thing as far as I know. Any help that you turbo gurus can offer is most appreciated. Thanks in advance. -Chris-

Board member Longduckdong(sp?) from Montgomery,AL can help you out.He can make the motor mounts for ya. His email is jcarswel1@yahoo.com I beleive.He can also be found on turbobuicks.com in the hybrid section. Do a search. To anwser one of your ??s is no you cant keep your 5 speed.HTH

Drew

Has been done in several light bodies of all makes, great power-to-weight ratio.

I'll take a stab at some of your queries...

1. Yes you can stay with your manual trans, but you'll lose ability to launch under boost by power braking. Stick/turbos usually have horrible 60 foot times. Definately consider an automatic with a nice high stall converter.