Rack and Pinion Conversion

Rack & pinion

Turbo D,

I'm in the middle of gathering my parts right now. I've had it with all the (extra) parts from the original design. I'm useing a powered mustang rack because it fitts very close to our tie rod to tie rod width and keeps our 2 turns lock to lock steering. Then I'm useing Heim joints and drilling the spindles. I'll have to fab a union that the rack ends and the heim joints will screw into and provide adjustment from 1018 round stock steel. The mount brackets will locate off the forward lower control arm bolt after you remove it and reinstall it backwards. That's where I am and have had no time to work on it for months. Hope the ideas and advice helps. If your not in a hurry you can just wait till I finish mine and I'll send you pics. I've been designing this for about 7 months.

Randy

Randy, Are you planning on running the steering shaft through the front crossmember? When I got under there and checked it out that looked like the best option. Also which rack did you choose, mustang II or 79-93 mustang?
THanks,

Scott

Yes the steering shaft will have to go through the cross member. My Rack is off a 1990 Mustang. If I remember it's 45 3/4 inches end to end without the tie rod ends screwed on. Our distance between our factory set up tie rod to tie rod is 48 inches. That means we can use a heim joint to make up the other 2 inches between the mustang rack and our factory measurement. We will just have to fabricate a union between the rack and the heim joint. I used a solid bar of 1018 steel and tapped threads for each one to make my union.

The problem comes in with mounting the rack to the front of the crossmenber.
I've already figured that out also but, it is too complicated to try to explain here. Like they say a picture is worth a thousand words. I'm sure I won't have time to work on that again until this spring.