You can type here any text you want

Replacing timing set

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

87-WE2

Back in business!!
Noob here replacing original timing set. I've heard that Cloyes is good and Rollmaster looks good to me. I'm guessing I want to go with a double roller as I will be adding alcohol after replacement (probably a little during replacement also!!).

Do any of our beloved supporting vendors sell Cloyes, or is Rollmaster the way to go? Rollmaster is pricey, but I'm one of those guys who wants to do it right, even if it costs a little extra. What's the best and most reliable way to go for a timing set?

I will also be replacing oil pan gasket, valve cover gaskets, and valve springs at the same time. Probably stick a new water pump in there for giggles, too.

If you're not building a 600+ HP motor, I'd recommend going with TA Performances' Billet Steel Timing Gear Set & their HD Single Row Chain that utilizes a stock style tensioner.
On a mild engine build using alcohol, etc.....it will be fine.....+ it will be much quieter vs a double row chain that doesn't use a tensioner.
I went this route over the winter when I changed over my original timing chain and gears after 60,000+ miles.

You can get this from Arizona GN......just call & ask Nick Micale about his recommendations using the TA Billet Gear Set & Chain with a tensioner for your set up.

As far as the oil pan gasket: For a trouble free installation and good durability.....I'd suggest when you change your oil pan gskt to use the cork pan gasket made by Kenny Duttweiller, these have a great track record of not leaking.

Noob here replacing original timing set. I've heard that Cloyes is good and Rollmaster looks good to me. I'm guessing I want to go with a double roller as I will be adding alcohol after replacement (probably a little during replacement also!!).