You can type here any text you want

Roller Cam pushrods?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

blackgn231

Money pit
I got a set from Champion Heads that are .0850 is this to long? I am not that great at checking this and need some advice from someone who has done this to there car,I am running stock heads that have been milled only to get a clean suface ,anyone I was told about marking the center of the rocker arm back to the spring and turning the motor over one complete turn and if they are right they should end up in the center of the spring retainer is this true or am I misunder standing this anyone ?

I'm not an expert either but I'll share what I've learned while working on my current 4.1 build. The length of the pushrod is determined by lifter preload which on my comp cam kit from full throttle should be .020-.040". You check this by marking the push rod at two different positions and measure the distance between the marks. This is explained in more detail in the installation instructions from Comp cams that came with the kit. The pushrods in my kit were 8.225" long X5\16diam. X .080 wall thickness.
Also, if your cam has a lift of .510" or more your exhaust valve guides need to be modified so you can use a positive type seal that also requires replacing the stock style exhaust valve. I've read comments that this isn't really necessary if you just stay with the stock exhaust valve setup but people like turbofabricator and my machinist strongly recommend machining the valve guide and adding a seal with a new aftermarket style valve. I did it.
MLH

The ONLY way to get the correct length pushrod is to assemble the block/heads (gaskets in place and torqued) and measure. If you do anything but that you're just guessing.