You can type here any text you want

Timing light

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

trbodon21

I can't remember, but when checking the timing on our cars don't we need a different type of timing light that won't pick up the waste spark? What timing light do you guys use?Thanks

We don't need no stinking timing light. :cool:
We set the cam sensor for the injectors and the chip controls the timing based off the crank sensor.

Not when you have a DFI. I want to match the timing in the computer with the actual timing in the car. I'm new to the DFI world so maby I am posting in the wrong board.
Yes timing is set by chip and you don't need a timing light for a stock computer, but with a DFI it is a different story.

Trbodon there are 2 things you need to know about timing and DFIs.

1. Yes you can use a timing light on the balancer it works. Dont worry about the waste spark. Put the pick up wire on the #1 cylinder and shoot.

2. Batch fire DFIs are not the most accurate thing in the world when it comes to timing. You should allow for an additional 6 degrees of timing from whatever is on the balancer and in your timing map.

For instance, if your ignition map reads 18 degrees at WOT ( highest boost cells vs rpms of 4500 and up) then you are actually running 24 degrees on the motor. I would play it safe with the timing and if you increase it at all do it in one degree increments and be careful.

For the street 21 degrees and low boost 14 psi or so in the summer heat is fine.

On the strip you can go up to 26 degress ON RACE GAS ONLY and the boost can go wherever you like.

Remember the cam sensor tells the injectors when to open and the crank sensor controls the timing for ignition.

As long as both were set up correctly The DFI will work just fine.

Good luck