You can type here any text you want

Timing Question -- FAST

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Mikes88Stang

I need to settle a dispute. Is the Timing shown on the Timing Advance Table the total timing or is it simply the advance? So If I have a BASE of 10 degreese and the Timing Map (or DASH) shows 30, should I have 30 or 40?

Thanks

This is on a ford mustang that has the crank ref angle at 10.

Originally posted by Mikes88Stang
I need to settle a dispute. Is the Timing shown on the Timing Advance Table the total timing or is it simply the advance? So If I have a BASE of 10 degreese and the Timing Map (or DASH) shows 30, should I have 30 or 40?

Thanks

This is on a ford mustang that has the crank ref angle at 10.

Mike,

The timing reflected in the Fast Timing map, should be what is actually showing on crank using a timing light. If it is off a few degrees adjust the value in the crank ref. offset (10).

Example: Map is 30 deg.....crank timing shows 32, then change crank reference offset to 12, this will sync it to 30.
I know it looks backwards, but thats how it works add to subtract, or subtract to add.

Hope this settles the dispute???

Joe
PTE
Joe@PrecisionTurbo.net
219-996-7832

Thanks Rick and Joe. Yep, I am right, BUT unfortuinatly the car runs like crap.... agh. Wont rev or anything. The timing was WAY off from what the FAST thought it was. Its not setup so that the FAST and balancer are in sync. Maybe someday this FAST install will be complete.

Hey Joe, in case you dont remember me.... Its mike from CT. We had a bad TFI harness to start with. Remember? Hehe. Let me know if you finally got your in-office hi-speed, maybe you can connect to my laptop and check this out.:confused: