You can type here any text you want

TurboTweak...Need help tuning please!

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

SVORay

I have a TurboTweak chip but I'm not sure what model it is. My instructions say TurboTweak chip version 5.6 4/8/05. Anyways, a few weeks ago I unpluged my battery to clean up some junk wires etc. Now today I was reading my TurboTweat instructions and it says unpluging the battery will lose the tune. So now I need to tune my car but I've never done any tuning before. I'm sure It's not to bad but I have no idea on the values I should set for timing and WOT etc. I would greatly appericate any help.

Mods: TE44 Turbo @ 15PSI, p&p stock heads, 208/208 cam, 42.5 injectors, THDP, PTS Xtreme 3000 stall, and CAI.

Thanks
Ray

PS I use a scanmaster 2.0v and it says my default settings is 128 on the BL.

If you received the 5.6 instructions with the chip, then it's version 5.6. The chip should also have 5.6 written on it. Check the chip to make sure about the version.
If you do any tuning using the adjustable features, those adjustments will be lost if you disconnect the battery. Since you have never used the adjustable features, then you really didn't lose anything since they would have always been at the default settings.
Most people never even use the adjustable features since the chip is designed for your setup (if you bought it from me). But if you want to tune it even further to get every last horsepower out of it, then you can play with the fuel and timing adjustments.
Generally people try to run as much boost as possible without knock or leaning out. The idea is to slowly increase boost, and if it leans out or knocks, then add some WOT fuel. If the knock goes away, then repeat until you get to a point where you can't rid of the knock. Then you have found your boost limit for the octane fuel you're using (for pump gas it's usually 16-17psi).